Learning to Run

12079851_10207404086760963_2907418702843027257_o

Before I did the Nashville Sprint in October, I got myself a trainer. I knew that I was pushing myself about as far as I would on my own, so I needed someone who would push me a little bit further. Anywho, when I started with my trainer, I was asked to fill out a short questionnaire.

The last question on there was “What are you looking to accomplish by having a trainer?”

After I read that, I had to stop and actually think about it… I knew that I wanted to lose weight and be more tone, I also knew that I wanted to make sure I didn’t disappoint my friends whom I was going to be racing with, but I wasn’t sure that was all.

As I stared at the question I realized that wasn’t all I wanted. I wanted to run. Like, really run… like I wanted to be able to run a 5k. So, that’s what I wrote down. I actually wrote “I WANT TO BE ABLE TO JOG/RUN 4 MILES”

and that is where it began….

As I said before, I had gotten pretty used to the treadmill, but what I did not tell you is that I lack balance (or grace, whatever you want to call it). Every time I am on the treadmill I HAVE to hold on. I don’t know if I really suck or if it yet, another, mental block but, if I do not hold on, I get off time and stumble. I have never actually fallen while on the treadmill, but I would really like to keep it that way, so I hold on.

Anyway, after realizing that learning to run on the treadmill would not be easy, I was going to have to figure something out. Besides, since I am being honest, I did not and do not want to run at the gym for fear of doing it wrong or falling or I don’t know… killing myself in front of everyone there.

I figured the only way I was going to be able to do this was to run around my block. My block is about a half mile so I figured I would give that I try. I put on my arm band for my phone, put in my ear buds, and gave it a go! I started off with a quick walk, then about two houses down, I broke into a jog. I have no idea if I was going a JOG speed, or if I was at a RUN speed, but I was going. I was running. I made it for a count of about five houses, then I walked for two, and kept going with that rhythm until I completed my half mile. I was tired and it was JUST a half mile, but the only way I would get to four miles, was by figuring out the first half.

The problem I am facing now is that I do not want to lose my momentum, but its too cold to run outside and I know I cannot run at the gym. I have set the treadmill to no incline and the speed to 3.2mph and all I was doing was showing people what a human version of wiener dog looks like… short legs that move at the speed of light, but still at a walk.

Anyway, here is where I need you to tell me: what you wear when you run in the cold… it is January in Indy, which means temps in the 30’s most of the time. Then I need to know if you have tricks that keep you going? And to add to it, I am curious about what keeps you from giving up, especially when its cold? HOW DO YOU DO IT???

Bottom line, I want to be a runner, and I just need to learn how to achieve this goal…

 

Leave a Reply

