Eat Me…

14977_10205959646210852_2399953173377692890_n11076234_10205959643650788_4114736790658300661_n

 

I was planning on waiting until further in the month, but since I am sharing the good, the bad and the ugly of this weightloss – #becomingabetterme – journey, I figured today was as good a day as any. February is diet month.

A coworker of mine talked about the Whole 30 diet several months ago and I became interested. She and I had an extensive conversation about the core of the diet, and that is what caught my attention. The Whole 30 focuses on getting back to the basics. Getting the processed crap out and putting back in only the nutrients your body requires, not the junk food that your body has come to crave.

Eating healthy has always been on the radar, but always seemed impossible with the schedules that we keep and the fact that I have the pickiest family in the history of picky families.

Anyway, I brought this whole idea up to my husband and was met with aggravation and grumbling. To be honest, he said that I could do whatever kind of diet I wanted (which I appreciated), but he didn’t feel it was something he wanted or needed to do. I am a stubborn woman so I did not give up there. I said things, dropped hints, suggested, even semi-demanded that neither of us are exactly young anymore and we could stand to be better.

It was then that he agreed.

As the holidays and done and we are past swim season, we decided that there was no better time than now to do the diet. February One, was the beginning.

We talked about the ins and outs and ups and downs that would be this month and decided that the keys for us would be just fresher foods, NO sugars, no processed carbs… in a nut shell we have mixed the Whole 30 and the Paleo diet.

Part of the reason I wanted to do this was because before I started working out I was basically a full time couch potato, which left my metabolism as DOA… I have come to terms with the fact that I am not going to be one of those people who can lose weight on exercise alone, so kicking it gear is going to have to be up to the meats and veggies that I will be eating.

I have been keeping records of my diet dairy on My Fitness Pal, and I even weighted in on the first so I know what happens over the course of the next 26 remaining days of the month.

The kitchen will be our hang out for the weekend as we will doing something that we have only heard of others doing… MEAL PREP!

Recipes, ideas, and yummy Whole 30 compliant snack ideas would be greatly appreciated, so please feel free leave comments for me and anyone else who would be reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

