Eat Me – Take 2

12710947_10208177086005461_8833534627132459613_oAs I have been talking about this “diet” on Facebook and Instagram lately, I was told that I should change the way I discussed it, so that is what I am going to do.

We all know that that DIET is one of the worst four letter words out there. Most of us even cringe at the thought of it, even have horrible war stories about fad diets that we have tried. This is not one of those. Not by a long shot! I have had more energy through the day, sleeping better, and have even lost 5.5lbs since I started. Seriously 5.5 lbs in 9 days. I  know that sounds a little alarming, especially for someone who has taken over a year to lose 28 lbs up to the start of this, but honestly, I think it has to do with the lack of grains and dairy sitting heavily in my guts! Other than that, I have not had those horrible diet hungers that you get when you are on a fad diet and you get a shake at 8:30 in the morning, and at 8:45 you are STARVING! Yeah, none of that! It has been great!

Even Hammy has said that this diet has surpassed his expectations. It was no secret that he was not gung-ho about the idea of that stinkin’ four letter word hindering his enjoyment of meal time, but even he is singing the praises! Before this, if we had spaghetti for dinner he would have to stay up until 2am just to avoid having stomach acids eating a hole in his lungs in the middle of the night, but not at all has he had a hint of heartburn! He also made mention of not having the “diet hungers”! Throwing a few cashews back has been perfectly fine for him. If there was one thing that has driven me nuts (haha, so did not mean to throw in a pun like that!) about this, is that he is down 15lbs… how do guys do that???!!! I mean, they say diet and and the lbs just fall off. Women have to bust our butts to make it happen… but I digress.

Anyway, we are nine in and our meals have been like king feasts!

I have been the salad queen, as in I feel like that is what I have been doing the most of… have I even mentioned how cathartic chopping vegetables can be? So, lettuce, baby spinach, peppers (of every color), cucumbers, onions, and grape tomatoes with a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. I also add avocados to mine, but the rest of the family turn their noses at them. Needless to say, the salads, although sides to the main dish, still important and delish.

Hammy on the other hand has been amazing. We have had lamb chops, shrimp, ribeye steaks, beef roast, grilled chicken, paleo chili, meatloaf and for extras we have had papaya, strawberries, squash, zucchini, carrots, potatoes, cauliflower, plantains, and cabbage. For snacks we have had larabars, cashews, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, or almonds.

12642800_10208190478700270_6940141726277229603_n

Since I am a good girl and don’t like four letter words, I will just say that this has been a great step in my plan of #becomingabetterme … as I don’t want to sounds overly optimistic, as it is only nine days in, but if we keep eating this good, I am might stop calling this a diet and refer to it as a “change in my diet”, because its all about perspective, right?

Leave a Reply

