Coming Full Circle

10911345_10205518567218863_6495178285615805578_o

Two of my favorite CornFed inspirations, testing my skills and pushing me out “on a limb” @ Shades State Park (thanks Chris and Mike, love you guys!!)

For the last two years I have been using words like reps, squats, work outs, calories (and burpees) in pretty much daily life. I have posted transformation pictures, gym memes, race photos, even gone as so far as to talk about my trials and tribulations with the elliptical… but I never really understood what that was doing. I was just being me. That was all. I mean social media is to a place where you talk about what is going on in your life, right? Well, that is what I was doing. Or at least I thought that was what I was doing.

12661989_10208170292515628_7385717069417173454_n

When I decided to get healthy, I was really paying attention to others who were doing similar things, I found my inspirations in people who probably didn’t even know. I found myself interested more in small victories than larger ones. Maybe because smaller ones seemed to be something I could handle, I don’t really know but those were the ones I watched. Don’t get me wrong I was amazed (still am for that matter) every time I saw someone post their crazy burpee challenge videos, or the “I just ran 10 miles, and I feel great”‘s, or their trifecta medal pictures, but it was the small ones that got me. For example, a friend posted “I finally broke down and did it, I joined the gym. Now to figure out my schedule.” That too me was huge, because I know what that is like.

12189884_10204981247158980_6279599701852308354_n

This is Becca, she is on the same journey, love seeing her progress as well and positive energy!

It is not easy to go home after work, change clothes and go to the gym. It is not easy to NOT order that piece of chocolate pie at the end of a fantastic dinner out. It is not easy to put your tennies on a snowy Sunday and turn on Zumba or Wii Fit, or Just Dance just to be healthier, but I do it because of the people I have behind me. The ones who try to talk louder than that voice in my head telling me I can’t. The ones who, on the course, tell me to step on their shoulders just so I can get up the embankment, even the ones who tell me to go one step further, even when I think I can’t.

Over the course of the past few months I have received private messages or even was tagged in a post where my friends would tell me that they were on their own journey of “becoming better thems”… I smiled, gave them virtual high fives, a “go get’em”, and then went on.  I am sure that part of me not making any more of a fuss about it was because, well, I am dumb and really couldn’t wrap my head around the idea of inspiring anyone else… still can’t for that matter…

10984212_10207011353022865_4016112186783716274_n

y’all know Angel, she is the foot in my butt that I often need. She reminds me how far I have come, even when I don’t see it myself. Thank you, Ang!

But after several conversations this week I have realized that you can inspire and be inspired by the same person. You may be the reason they go a little harder, and because of them you do one more rep… I am not going to sit here and pretend I anything special, because I am still Lil’ Heather… a whole 5’2″ spunky nerd that (most of you) have known for a while now, but I am trying. I want to be a better me, I need to be a better me, and I continue to see inspiration in my friends and if along the way, my story helps you get off of the couch and come fight the elliptical with me, then great!

I think that is what they call coming full circle, right? Starting at a specific point them coming all the way around to the beginning? I guess the point I am trying to make here is I have been inspired by so many of you, and it makes my heart swell to know that I have given something back.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

