Making the Day Count and Getting Redemption

20160401_180102

I have heard that on the days you don’t want to go to the gym, those are the days you get the most out of it. I could not agree more.

Allow me to recap my last 20ish hours for you…

I went to bed about 11:30pm, which is not out of the norm for me, but at 2am I was WIDE awake. No amount of counting sheep made my eye lids heavy, and it wasn’t until after 3am that I last looked at the clock. Needless to say, it was a somewhat rough night. When my alarm went off at 7:15, I soooo badly wanted to hit snooze and roll back over, but since it was the hubs day off, I decided I would drag my tail feathers to the kitchen to start coffee so I didn’t wake him. I managed to get a half cup drank and look fairly presentable to head off to work. Really just facing the world with one eye open.

IMG_20160401_100345

First coworker gift. Thanks Drew!

I got to work and on my desk was a wonderful gift from a coworker. I really was humbled by this, and so heart warmed to know how my coworkers think of me. (the lil note in the top was his way of telling me who it was from as he refers to himself as the #1 and I play the role of his #2… just a side note and a little office humor)

 

The day drug on and I was losing more steam until, another coworker came in with something for me as well! It was like Christmas in the office for me! I love this gang, but it wasn’t until today that I realized they love me back. Silly, I know, but it is nice to go to work and enjoy the job as well as the people!

In a 3:30 meeting with the boss I informed him that I had to leave at 4:30 to get to the trainer at 5… he was very understanding and we hurried the meeting along, but the closer it got to time to change into my gym clothes and leave the less I was feeling it. Like a true leader he reminded me that I am not the kind of person to back out of a commitment, that I have already come so far, and of course the “you got this” just for good measure. I begrudgingly agreed and left.

20160401_141710

second coworker gift. Thanks Lisa!

 

As I walked into the gym Mr Trainer was there and it hit me… It was time to give back so when he asked me how I felt I was honest:

Me: I am a little tired, but I was thinking…

Mr T: Oh no, what were you thinking?

Me: I was thinking I want redemption.

Mr T: Really? How so?

Me: I want to work on my arms again. Just like we were with the bar and the bells the day I had my freak out. Maybe go a little lighter between the two and slow the sets, but I want to do this.

Mr T: well, ok, lets do this!

And we did! We talked through was what working, what wasn’t. We talked about the machines. We talked about the different movements that caused the pains vs what did not. I used this as much as a learning experience as I did a work out. I could tell he felt as good about what we were doing as I did. It is nice to see your trainer happy with your performance! I felt like I redeemed myself and I believe he felt the same.

I started my day with the belief that it was going to be a bad one. Just a crappy day that would lead to a crappy evening… yes, part of my doom and gloom was precoffee, but still, I was not envisioning the wonderful day that I had… I never expected that my coworkers were going to show me love and support the way they did and that just makes me remember why #becomingabetterme came into being. It’s because of people like them and days like these that I will continue to push forward.

2 thoughts on “Making the Day Count and Getting Redemption

Leave a Reply

