Happy Mothers’ Day #becomingabettermother

Doing all that I do, every day, is solely for my kids. Ok, so not solely… but damn near.  There are things that I do as a mother, that I hope with everything inside of me, that my children see and even take with them on their own road. I realize my children are very close to the legal “adult” age, but I hope that I have not been too late in teaching them the important things I have learned along my journey over the course of the last few years…

DETERMINATION, GOALS, SELF AWARENESS, and WONDER…

Let me explain.

Determination: When I decided I was going on this journey of #becomingabetterme, I knew that if I didn’t set my mind to it, I wouldn’t get anything done. Having to push myself to do things I didn’t really want to do, that was my determination coming out. I guess that could also be considered stubbornness, but hey, determination is a prettier word! Talking about plans and following through with those plans is totally different and I needed to make sure my children know that too.

Goals: Setting goals and attaining them is one of the most fulfilling experiences in the world. Personally I have to set a group of smaller goals and then see how those add up to the bigger goal I am after. I have done that several times – even talked about a lot of them in other writings, but my favorite is still my running goal. I know I can’t go out and run a 5k, lets not even pretend I can do a half mile without dying, but the point is, I have pushed myself to run, even in its smallest increments, I did it. The big goal is being able to do the 4 miles, but I am happy with the .04 miles as a jumping off point!

Self  Awareness: Only you can determine that. I wont lie, I still struggle with this one. I tend to focus on what I have not yet accomplished, but I know I am better than I once was, even if I not yet what I want to be. I think this is what keeps us humble and grounded. Knowing we always have room for improvement. Even if I have not got this one licked, I still try to remind my kids of their strong suits and encourage them in the areas where they are lacking.

Wonder: Never lose your sense of wonder! Never stop trying new things! Never ever settle for what is less than who you are! If someone who have told me 3 years ago that I would have ever got off the couch and started working out, I would have laughed! Let alone having a trainer, finishing two Spartan races, several 5ks, a 10k, and a couple random mud runs… those ideas were just knee slappers back then! Then you add in the loss of 38 lbs. UNHEARD OF!! I am not done finding myself, everyday is new adventure, and everyday will remain just that!

I guess the moral of this story is that even though it took me roughly 37 years to figure out what makes this life go ’round, I want my kids to start out with what I have learned at the beginning of their adulthood, rather than smack dab in the middle of it. #becomingabettermother is just one more thing to add to my TO DO list, and ya know what? I got this!

 

 

Leave a Reply

